And If You Don’t Recognize Yourself
That Means You Did It Right

herwingswrite
4 min readSep 20, 2024

--

Image from Pinterest (Doctors Slump, 2024)

And if you don’t recognize yourself, that means you did it right.

Those are my favorite line from Taylor Swift in her one of her tracks in Midnights ‘Dear Reader’.

Growing up, I always received words from my family such as “Smart,” “Ma-diskarte,” and “Masipag”. I tried to carry the weight of their expectations, believing that I could use all of these as my motivations to do push better and go up.

I sometimes thought I could never do something that is beyond of my capabilities. I never thought I could multitask like other people do.

I have always been passionate and dedicated to everything I do. I have always received compliments, greetings, and long messages from my family and friends. Things only got serious when I started reflecting on them one-by-one, as if it was something I would genuinely think about.

I used to think life is just the way it is, depending on how you handle it and survive through it.

I was in third grade when I won my very first book certificate at our library because I was one of the top book borrowers there.

I was in fourth grade when I started writing for fun. I never knew that hobby could have such a big impact on me, as I now feel like I want to join every writing publication everywhere.

I was in high school when I started seeing opportunities again. I didn’t get the chance to take them because I always decline everything, feeling like I still needed to improve myself, despite all of those encouraging words from my friends just for me to join.

I was twelve years old when I started receiving criticism about my writing. I kept doubting myself that time, which led me to stop writing and showcasing my skills like I used to. I just went on living my life as usual. I even used to think criticism was something I should always take personally, something that drags me to suffocation, but little did I know, it would lead to the biggest improvements in my life. I know that only God and my parents who sees my potential in every aspects of my life, and especially myself.

I was fifteen when I tried to regain my blog back to my life, just like it was before. I have noticed so many improvements, and it felt like my passion was waving back to me. I started my first ever writing account, and receiving praises from people makes my heart happy. Realizing that my eight-year-old self would be so proud of me.

Now, at this stage of my life, I have witnessed every people have cruel words that can sometimes inflict people though it can be an inspiration for you to do better.

And right now, the happenings in my life lately are something that I would never expect — something that I thought I would only see in stories, articles, and especially in movies. The peace is coming back into my life and slowly reviving all of those broken pieces of me before. Life goes on still anyway.

May, 2024

After an exhausting school year in Manila, I took the chance to study in a province. I had so much anxiety about transferring to another school that it was almost ineffable; I needed a breather. The universe definitely heard my prayers and pleas, granting me new friends and opportunities that surely changed my perspective for the better.

As receiving heartwarming messages from my loved-ones, and to strangers, was something I didn’t expect receiving for. It altered my realizations that words are such an indeed powerful.

I have tried to take new opportunities and treat them like candy. Unwrapping them is like experiencing something I haven’t tasted before — something I never knew I had.

I have come up to my realizations that life is just a never-ending cycle. Life can be unpredictable sometimes, yet its surprises are something you didn’t know you prayed for. It’s either you’ll end up in a good place, or Life will put you up in it unequivocally.

Let us not underestimate the power of words. For me, words are such a powerful thing that can bring about big changes for other people. Words are like a treasure; they hold hope.

Above all, I have come to realize that vigilantly waiting & compassion should be the foundation of one’s life. We are all not running out of time in our life. We should take every step slowly. The world might urge you to race against the clock, telling you to stay on track and move faster, but life isn’t define by timing.

Everyone’s journey is very different. It unfolds at its own pace.

Yes, it was not what we wanted, but that pain gave us a big change in our life. It’s the time where we have to realize our worth, strength, and our capabilities. We’ve been through a lot already. We cried a million times just to survive the tidal waves. That even though it is not our choice to do it, we still hoped to believe that it is for the better.

For the sake of peace, healing, and a better journey ahead.

So whatever you’re going through today, may you find the courage to never stop believing in how much good there still is in this world.

We can never build the life we’re meant to build if we have to break down at every step of the way just to get there.

Nothing is worth burning out your spirit.

--

--

herwingswrite

a girl and her wings 🦋 — on a constant creative growth ☻